Opportunity to make a difference

posted: 2:10 pm - 20th November 2017
Okirano Tilaila

Twelve young New Zealanders have been selected to take part in the new Ministerial Youth Advisory Group which includes Okirano Tilaia, a 15-year old Samoan student from Cashmere High School in Christchurch and an active member of the Pacific Youth Leadership and Transformation (PYLAT) Council.

The Ministerial Youth Advisory Group will enable young people to have more influence on the education system and issues that affect them.

The twelve young New Zealanders will offer young people, aged between 14 and 18 years old, the opportunity to share their experiences on the education system, as well as ideas about improvements.

Education Minister Chris Hipkin says he is looking forward to working with this inspiring group of young people, hearing about their experiences of the education system and how they think to improve it.

“I want our young people to have a say in the way our education system works, and the Youth Advisory Group provides an exciting opportunity for young New Zealanders to get involved in the decision-making.”

The Youth Advisory Group is being set up to enable young people to have their say and have more influence on the education system and issues that affect them.

Insights from this group will be shared with the Ministry of Education and other education sector agencies.

Okirano says he is thrilled to be chosen to be part of twelve New Zealanders giving advice on the education system and look forward to share some of this ideas to improve learning for Pacific kids.

About 150 young people engaged in youth online forums will discuss and test insights gathered from the advisory group, to ensure a wide range of viewpoints on selected education topics. Registrations are still open to be part of the online forum.

The Ministry would like to congratulate the 2018 Youth Advisory Group:

·         Shaneel Lal, Otahuhu College, South Auckland

·         Bevan Xiao, Long Bay College, Auckland

·         Abby McRoberts, Aotea College, Porirua

·         Liam McLeavey, Waiopehu College, Levin

·         Okirano Tilaia, Cashmere High School, Christchurch

·         Geniqua Samupo, Avondale College, West Auckland

·         Brodie Cross, Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu | Correspondence School, (Christchurch)

·         Nathan Farr, Kings’ High School, Dunedin

·         Hadassah Wharawhara, Te Kāpehu Whetū partnership school, Kerikeri

·         Costa Blackman, Tolaga Bay Area School, Tolaga Bay

·         Kate Morris, Darfield High School, Darfield

·         Watene Campbell, Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Ngā Mokopuna, Wellington

The group’s first meeting will be held in late February 2018.