Vui Mark Gosche to chair Counties Manukau DHB

posted: 11:30 am - 2nd May 2018
markgosche Samoan bios

(Picture caption: Vui Mark Gosche will chair Counties-Manukau DHB. CREDIT Samoan Bios.)

Health Minister Hon. Dr David Clark has announced Samoan Vui Mark Gosche as Counties-Manukau District Health Board’s new Chair; he will take up the position this month. 

Since 2014, Vui has been the Chief Executive Officer of Vaka Tautua, a national not-for-profit Pacific health support service provider.

Prior to his current role he was Chief Advisor Strategic Relationships at the Ministry of Pacific Island Affairs in Auckland; a Member of the NZ Parliament (1996- 2008) who held cabinet ministerial portfolios of Housing, Pacific Island Affairs, Transport, Corrections and Racing; and for 15 years he was a trade union leader representing service industry workers – where he set up four health centres which provided low-cost primary health care services.  

Since leaving politics he has held a large number of governance roles including NZ Rugby League, TYLA Trust, COMET Auckland, Vaka Tautua, Brain Injury Association, Talklink Trust and Fonua Ola.

He currently serves on the board of Lifewise and was recently elected to the Mt. Wellington Licensing Trust.

Dr Clark has also announced new Chairs to lead Auckland two other District Health Boards – Pat Snedden, who will lead Auckland DHB from June 1, and Judy McGregor, who will be the Chair of Waitemata DHB, from June 10.     

The three DHBs have had acting Chairs since December following the resignation of Lester Levy, who had led all three boards.

“No one should underestimate the task of governance in our public health service. DHB chairs play a vital role overseeing the delivery of health services to New Zealanders,” Dr Clark says.

“These are demanding and important roles and I am more than pleased with the calibre of people that have agreed to step up to lead the DHBs.”

Dr Clark adds all three incoming Chairs are experienced leaders with long records of public service.

“I know they will provide strong leadership and support the Government to deliver on our vision of a high quality public health service,” he says.

The Minister also thanked the acting Chairs who had taken the reins at the three DHBs since December - Kylie Clegg at Waitemata and Gwen Tepania-Palmer at Auckland.

They will continue as members of their respective boards. 

Meanwhile, Rabin Rabindran and fellow board member Mark Darrow will finish their time at Counties Manukau DHB on May 2.

Dr Clark has also decided to appoint a Crown Monitor at Counties Manukau DHB, which is dealing with a number of complex issues, including an urgent need for capital investment and forecast rising deficits.

“The Crown Monitor, Ken Whelan, will attend and observe all CMDHB meetings and support the Board as they continue to address these challenges,” he says.

These announcements represent a significant refresh of the leadership of Auckland’s health services.