About the Awards

Prime Minister's Pacific Youth Awards

Recipients 2016 EarlyBird

The winners of the 2016 Prime Minister Pacific Youth Awards.

The Prime Minister's Pacific Youth Awards recognise excellence and outstanding achievement by Pacific youth in New Zealand.  The awards are geared towards giving Pacific youth the opportunity to boost their future potential even higher.

Greetings everyone,

Thank you to those who have already sent their applications in. We are more than encouraged at the level of calibre and confidence of our young Pacific people.

We have extended the application date to allow more time for our #pacificstars who have just returned to school.

The closing date is now:  MONDAY 12 FEBRUARY AT 8.00AM

Good luck to all entries. We are extremely proud of you all.


The 2016 Prime Minister’s Pacific Youth Awards were sponsored by Air New Zealand, Auckland Council, AKO Aotearoa, the GCSB, Creative New Zealand, BNZ, New Zealand Institute of Sport and Deloitte. The event was supported by Westpac and Leadership NZ. Congratulations to all the Award recipients—  you are all Pacific Stars!

Air New Zealand Leadership & Inspiration Award

Josiah Tavita Tualamali’i , 21, Christchurch

Auckland Council Community Star Award

Emma Takataka, 21, Otara

Ako Aotearoa STEM Award

James Penfold, 20, Dannemora, Auckland

Government Communications Security Bureau  (GCSB) Sub-Category STEM Award

Roneima Teumohenga, 18, Palmerston North

Creative New Zealand Arts & Creativity Award

Jahra Wasasala, 24, Blockhouse Bay, Auckland

BNZ Commercial & Corporate Award

Manako Nemaia, 20, Otahuhu, Auckland

NZIS (NZ Institute of Sport) Sports & Fitness Award

Ayesha Leti-I'iga, 17, Porirua
Mafutaga Tau, 18, Porirua

Deloitte Business & Enterprise Award

Sanita Betham, 18, Wellington

A huge thank you to everyone who submitted an application and the event sponsors and judges.

Applications for 2018 Prime Minister's Pacific Youth Awards close 8:00am Monday 12 February 2018. 


* Conditions apply – travel inland only; entries must meet criteria of application; travel must be taken by End of January 2019; main cities, Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, Dunedin